Congressional Corner

The bipartisan Congressional Hungarian-American Caucus was first established in 2003 during the 108th Congress.

Currently, the caucus is chaired by Representatives Dennis Ross (R-FL), Andy Harris (R-MD), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), and Debbie Dingell (D-MI). Membership of the caucus also includes the following members of Congress:

  • Rep. David Joyce (R-OH)
  • Rep. Joe Kennedy (D-MA)
  • Rep. Steve Russell (R-OK)
  • Rep. Mike Capuano (D-MA)
  • Rep. French Hill (R-LA)
  • Rep. Devin Nunes (R-CA)
  • Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH)
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL)
  • Rep. Steve King (R-IA)
  • Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR)
  • Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE)
  • Rep. Mike Coffman (R-CO)
  • Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
  • Rep. Ed Perlmutter (D-CO)
  • Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ)
  • Rep. Paul Gosar (R-AZ)
  • Rep. Robert Pittenger (R-NC) 


The Caucus maintains a strong, bipartisan voice in Congress for all issues pertaining to Hungarian-American relations. Additionally, the Caucus exists to supply a vitally important setting for discourse between the Hungarian-American community in the U.S. and the Government of Hungary.


Congressional Activity:

Letter from Senator Mike Lee to Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs A. Wess Mitchell

Letter from Congressman Andy Harris (R-MD) and Congressman Dennis Ross (R-FL) congratulating Prime Minister Orbán on his reelection

Letter from Ambassador Szabó to Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Subcommittee on Europe, Eurasia, and Emerging Threats

Congressman Andy Harris (R-MD) Letter to Secretary of State Rex Tillerson on Improving Relations with Hungary

Congressman Andy Harris (R-MD) Letter to Secretary of State Rex Tillerson condemning remarks by United States Chargé d'Affaires in Budapest

H.Con.Res.7 - Directing the Joint Committee on the Library to accept a statue commemorating the Hungarian Revolution of 1956 for placement in the United States Capitol, authorizing the use of the rotunda of the Capitol for a ceremony for the presentation of the statue, and directing the Architect of the Capitol to place the statue in a suitable permanent location in the Capitol.